Directi's Domains

Having established that Directi runs the "Find Something Interesting" parking service, it would now be interesting to know if perhaps Directi owns a few of the domains that are using it. Let's see if we can find out.

Answerable.com:

Let's look again at warezonly.com's whois information:

Domain Name: WAREZONLY.COM 

Registrant:
    Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft
    Domain Admin        (domadmin@privateregistrations.bz)
    CNR of Granby & Sharpe St
    Suite K2134
    Kingstown
    Not Applicable,Kingstown
    VC
    Tel. +55.5430545527

Creation Date: 21-Jan-2006  
Expiration Date: 21-Jan-2008

Domain servers in listed order:
    sk.s1.ns58.cnomy.com
    sk.s2.ns58.cnomy.com
    
ICANN Registrar: 	ANSWERABLE.COM (I) PVT. LTD.	   
	   
IP Address: 	209.85.51.158 	   
IP Location 	United Arab Emirates - Direct Information Fzc 	

The Registrar for warezonly.com is answerable.com. The first stop is the answerable.com website, which immediately confirms that it is a business of Directi.

Looking up the whois record on answerable.com, we come up with the following information. First we see that answerable.com is registered to logicboxes, one of Directi's business units, and the address listed is Directi's office in India. This establishes beyond a doubt that Directi runs answerable.com. Now let's check out the registrant.

Domain Name: ANSWERABLE.COM 

Registrant:
    LogicBoxes
    Domain Manager (domain.manager@logicboxes.com)
    330, Link Way Estate
    Link Road
    Malad (W)
    Mumbai
    Maharashtra,400064
    IN
    Tel. +91.2266797575

Creation Date: 07-Jan-2002  
Expiration Date: 07-Jan-2008

Domain servers in listed order:
    dns1.answerable.com
    dns2.answerable.com

Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft

The warezonly.com domain is also registered to a privacy service: Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft (Aktien Gesellschaft is apparently German for LLC). Interestingly enough, an archived whois record of cnomy.com (dated Feb 2007) found that the prior registrant of cnomy was the exact same privacy service:

Date:  2007-02-20 
Domain Name: CNOMY.COM 

Registrant:
    Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft
    Domain Admin (domadmin@privateregistrations.bz)
    CNR of Granby & Sharpe St
    Suite K2134
    Kingstown
    Kingstown,Kingstown
    VC
    Tel. +55.5430545527

Creation Date: 21-Feb-2006  
Expiration Date: 21-Feb-2009

Domain servers in listed order:
    ns2.cnomy.com
    ns1.cnomy.com
 
Registrar:  DIRECT INFORMATION PVT LTD
 D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM  

According to the whois information, Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft's website is privateregistrations.bz. But when we go to the site, we find there isn't one. This actually isn't surprising because the ".bz" top level domain is for Belize, and we wouldn't exactly expect for a privacy service to be operating in that country. Being that the Privacy Service is fake, it means that the same person/operation registered both cnomy.com and warezonly.com. Also, the privateregistrations.bz whois information pratically tells us that privateregistrations.bz is owned by Directi because the DNS servers for privateregistrations.bz are DIRECTI.com:1

Registrant:
Private Registrations, Inc
   CNR of Granby & Sharpe St
   Suite K2134
   Kingstown, Kingstown Kingstown
   VC

   Domain Name: PRIVATEREGISTRATIONS.BZ

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Admin, Domain		domadmin@privateregistrations.bz
      Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft
      CNR of Granby & Sharpe St
      Suite K2134
      Kingstown, Kingstown Kingstown
      VC
      +55-54-3054-5527


   Record expires on 27-Sep-2007.
   Record created on 27-Sep-2005.
   Database last updated on 30-Oct-2007 10:45:00 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   DNS1.DIRECTI.COM             69.44.154.14
   DNS2.DIRECTI.COM             66.98.228.74
   DNS3.DIRECTI.COM             69.44.154.14
   DNS4.DIRECTI.COM             66.98.228.74

View screenshot of privateregistrations.bz whois record

PublicDomainRegistry

Now take a look at the whois record for PublicDomainRegistry.com below. Although we've already established that this is a Directi business, a Directi address is not listed for this domain. Searching the internet for the address "14525 SW Millikan #48732", we find that Directi's opticaljungle.com domain is also registered to this address.

Domain Name: PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM 

Registrant:
    Public Domain Registry, Inc.
    Domain Manager        (domain.manager@publicdomainregistry.com)
    14525 SW Millikan #48732
    Beaverton
    Oregon,97005-2343
    US
    Tel. +1.2013775952

Creation Date: 28-Dec-2003  
Expiration Date: 28-Dec-2011

Domain servers in listed order:
    ns1.publicdomainregistry.com
    ns2.publicdomainregistry.com
    
Registrar:  DIRECT INFORMATION PVT LTD D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM  

The address, in fact, is that of a mail forwarding service, "Earth Class Mail".2 It seems strange that the domain is registered to such an address, but we suspect that in this case Directi is doing a little better job of covering its tracks.

Leaving that thought for now, take a look at an address in past whois records for the PublicDomainRegistry.com domain. The domain was at one time registered to a Mubashir Patel of New Jersey.

Date: 2004

Registrant:
Public Domain Registry Inc.
    Mubashir Patel        (mpatel@publicdomainregistry.com)
    11-D, Red Oak Lane
    Old Bridge
    New Jersey
    NJ,08857

Now take a look at the information below. This listing shows an email address for a "M Patel" using the same address as listed for "Private Registrations".

Nordic Contact Service
nordic.amillo.net
Address: CNR of Granby & Sharpe St
Suite K2134 Kingstown VC
Tel. +55.5430545527
E-mail: patel-m@hotmail.com

There are probably many "M Patels" in this world, but we know that the two are the same because of the following whois record, which is for the domain amillo.com shown above. This time, the "M Patel" in the WHOIS above happens to have at one time been located in the same city as Directi's India office. Therefore, we are quite certain that the M. Patel that registered the PublicDomainRegistry.com domain is also connected to the address used by Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft.

Date:  2006-04-10  
 
Registration Service Provided By: PRIVACY PROTECT, INC.
Contact: +1.8326151680

Domain Name: AMILLO.NET 

Registrant:
    M Patel
    M Patel        (patel-m@hotmail.com)
    206, Natasha Gardens
    Andheri(W)
    Mumbai
    Maharashtra,400053
    IN
    Tel. +1.9820017003

Registrar:  DIRECT INFORMATION PVT LTD D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM

What We've Learned

This section of the report shows evidence that Directi itself owns domains, which it registers under a fake privacy service known as Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft. A search indicates that Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft has 13,712 domains. A sample of domains registered to Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft can be found by clicking the following link:

Warning: some domain names have adult themes
Domains registered to Private Registrations Aktien Gesellschaft

Adult Parking

In addition to its usual "Find Something Interesting" parking, Directi's adult-themed domains have a special Adult-themed template. You can view a sample of this page below :

Warning! - adult content

View whois records for domains above:

hardcore-rape.info | howtorape.com

Show me the money

Legal: All articles are the opinions of their respective authors. If you find any information that is incorrect, please contact the webmaster.